Rebecca Harrison: Collaborative Working and Project Outcomes

I have worked in groups before, but this group was different because I feel that time has been more successful. I feel this way because we all had an individual role we had to play to share the work load between the team. Bethan, the project manager, did an amazing job guiding us through the project, and she also created a Facebook page so then we could put ideas and share research with each other. We had lots of challenges though the project but I felt that it made the group stronger because we all wanted to achieve our goal for a souvenir stall for the final exhibition. We had limited materials for the stand as we could only use cardboard boxes. We named our stall ‘Belle Vue’s Souvenir Emporium’. For the stall we came prepared with postcards for the visitors to take with them, so they understood the work. We also gave our work ‘price tags’ to name our final pieces, which gave the stall the characteristics of a shop. If we were to do it again, we would make it look better by having a sign with the shop name or perhaps re-think the set out again, but I feel that with the time we had we made a successful outcome.

Souvenir Stall

Souvenir Stall

Working as part of a group has help my confidence and pushed me to share ideas. As the Exhibition Co-ordinator, I felt that this role was good for me because I’m very organised and I have done something like this before for my foundation degree, so I understand how to set work out so that two people’s work that are similar don’t over lap each other. I had a lot of help from Jo, who was the Event co-ordinator so we helped each other out when we were setting up the exhibit. The mid-term review was very helpful to see what the other groups are doing and also see what our group memeers had been doing during the Easter break: we did not see each other, we only shared our thoughts and research on the facebook page. I feel presenting and explaining my ideas out loud helped me challenge myself, and it made my work stronger because I had a better outcome. Presenting my work to the Interactive Arts students was the main beneficial help because for me I knew I had a final piece, but as mine was about Pat Pearson and her stories at Belle Vue, I wanted the stories to come across better because she is amazing lady I have ever met. They told me to add words or sound to my work so after the presentation I went back to the workshop to add these ideas to my work.
I looked at a few craft makers that helped me think about how my final piece would look like or where wearables could be placed on the body. I researched the work of Kim Gilson, Lydia Hirte and Marku Raetz. I really loved Markus Rartz kinetic work, and how it moves to make an image.
Markus Rartz kinetic

Markus Rartz kinetic

Kim Gilson

Kim Gilson

For my final piece, I have made three similar pieces; each with a different meaning.

Final Pieces

Final Pieces

In this one I used a very thin paper and stitched the outline in to add a bit of colour and to show how memories are very delicate. I feel that this one has worked really well because I over stitched in some places to make it rip and fray. The pin that I made for it is very simple with a little hook so you can have a few hanging down.

I'm very happy, how they have turn out. the pin works so well for this piece.

I’m very happy, how they have turn out. the pin works so well for this piece.

This is how i would like it to look on someone.

This is how i would like it to look on someone.

In the next one, I have cut out words. I wanted to make it personal for me, so I added words that I thought about Pat Pearson like admire, respect and strong. I chose these words because I don’t think now-a-days young teenagers would do what she has achieved at her age and I could listen to her stories all day. The pin for this design was different because they are simple,  again with a little hook but this time so the pin from the other side can hook on.

photo 4 (1)

This how i would want it to look on someone.

This how i would want it to look on someone.

 

In the last piece, I have stitched in words that I took from the interview I recorded of Pat Pearson. I only took the words like family, swing and sisters because I wanted to show that Belle Vue was not just a job for her; it was a family because the man in the photo below showed her everything she would need to know for the rest of her life. The pins on this piece are on either side so you can pin it any where you want.

I'm pleased with this one because the hind of colour is want i wanted to show.

I’m pleased with this one because the hind of colour is want i wanted to show.

This was family for Pat Peason at Belle Vue.

This was family for Pat Peason at Belle Vue.

I wanted this one to hang forward or even backward.

I wanted this one to hang forward or even backward.

Leave a Reply

