Rebecca Harrison: My Research and Ideas

My research started by going up to people in my family or friends if they ever went to Belle Vue. They all told me stories about first dates and family outings, I also wanted to know how the environment made them feel.

Chetham’s library was a great place to gather information. I read the zoo logbook about all the animals how they act and how they did not know what they was doing. So from this research I asked my nana about when she visited the zoo and how did it make her feel seeing the animals, the only feeling was sad because she remembers the polar bear walking round and round the pond because there was not enough space to move.

We visited the Manchester Histories festival about Belle Vue, but I saw a talk from Pat Pearson who did the Globe of death/ flying trapeze at Belle Vue in the 60’s before moving away. Pat Pearson talk help me understand how it must of felt working at belle vue and also how it changed when she moved back before Belle Vue closed in 1977. (www.machesterhistoriesfestival.org.uk)

Here is Pat Pearson with her friends that she work with.

Here is Pat Pearson with her friends that she work with.

Pat Pearson is the one in the middle.

Pat Pearson is the one in the middle.

From all the stories I have heard, I have pick to try and make 2D to 3D jewellery of flying trapeze or the dancing from the ballrooms into wearable jewellery. The special collections handling session was the main starting point for my work because I looked at how the pop out books work and the children slot in books.

I had different starting points, I wanted to bring back memories by words, smells, touch, sounds or even images. I chosen to use the images so I started looking at the dancing. I wanted to try and make it look like it was moving down the back or round the shoulders but I found it hard to join them or even make it look flat. So I looked at paper dolls, I’ve never made one first I looked at step by step but that when wrong because I got the did the wrong fold but I did get the jized of it after a couple of goes, but then I wanted to make it longer but I had really thick paper so it did not go right either. So I’m still learning, I’ll get it right soon.

Even though I’m more interested in metal I feel than paper would be better for my final outcome because of the time we have been given to make it. I’m going to start looking at different types of paper like thin, clear, shiny and textured.

I tried with thicker paper first to see if i could make a paper flying trapeze artist.

I tried with thicker paper first to see if i could make a paper flying trapeze artist.

I twisted the paper to make it look like it is moving.

I twisted the paper to make it look like it is moving.

Our group to me works really well because we are all craft makers, so we can help each other out if we are stuck. Within the group we are all interested in different Medias like ceramics, glass metal and mix media. As a group we decided to go with the theme souvenirs for Belle Vue for our final outcome. At group meetings we all share information or research than we have found to help each other or our self. To further my research I could look more into journals or books on the topics to widen my research other than the internet.

Leave a Reply

